We are updating the site, so you may face error, sorry for the inconvenience. Stay tuned, we will be up soon

Executive Council

The Centre is managed by a 19 member Executive Council elected on a four year term from amongst its General Body members. All Executive Council members work on honorary basis. There is a regular full-time paid administrative and research staff for management and research activities of the Centre.


Nazrul Islam

Nazrul Islam

Professor Nazrul Islam, M.A. (Geography, Dhaka University,1962-2004), President, Asiatic Society of Bangladesh and Chairman , Centre for Urban Studies(CUS).

Vice Chairman

Rosie Majid Ahsan, Ph.D

Rosie Majid Ahsan, Ph.D

Retired Professor, Department of Geography and Environment, University of Dhaka

Amirul Islam Chowdhury, Ph.D

Amirul Islam Chowdhury, Ph.D

Professor, United International University of Bangladesh and Former Vice Chancellor, Jahangirnagar University. He is an Urban Economist with 40 years of experience in teaching, research and consultancy (for World bank, USAID and others).Member, Advisory Committee on Strategic Transport Plan of Dhaka Transport Coordination Board ( project supported by the World Bank).

Khadem Ali

Khadem Ali

Senior Architect, Architekton Ltd. & Former President, IAB


Nurul Islam Nazem, Ph.D

Nurul Islam Nazem, Ph.D

Professor and Chairman, Department of Geography and Environment, University of Dhaka


Salma A. Shafi

Salma A. Shafi

Architect Salma A. Shafi, Architect Urban Planner. Has worked in EIA, IEE, ISA for several large projects (World Bank-ADB supported Jamuna Bridge Project, JICA supported Urban Solid Waste Management etc.

Joint Secretary

Syeda Ishrat Najia

Assistant Professor, Department of Geography and Environment, Jagannath University

Council Members

Ms. Moushumi Zahur

Planner & Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematics & Natural Science, BRAC University

Bulbon Osman

Retired Professor, Department of Art History, University of Dhaka

Shaukot Ali Khan

Planner and Former Project Director, DMDP, RAJUK


Professor, Department of Geography and Environment, Jahangirnagar Univerisity

AQM Mahbub, Ph.D

Professor, Department of Geography and Environment, University of Dhaka

Abuds Salam

Architect-Planner Abuds Salam is former Chief Architect, Department of Architecture, Government of Bangladesh and Executive Council Member, Centre for Urban Studies (CUS)

Farzana Islam, Ph.D

Professor, Department of Anthropology, Jahangirnagar University

Ashraf Ali Akhand

Planner, Deputy Town Planner, DMDP, RAJUK Avenue Building

Kanti Ananta Nuzhat

Kanti Ananta Nuzhat

Lecturer of Economics, North-South University

Professor Prof. Dr. Md. Ghulam Murtaza, Ph.D

Kazi Gulshan Nahar Madina