Prof Nazrul chosen for Sheltech Award

Professor Nazrul Islam, ex-Chairman of the University Grants Commission, was accorded Sheltech Award 2012 at a function recently. Engr. Kutubuddin Ahmed, Chairman and Dr Toufiq M Seraj Managing Director of Sheltech handed over the award along with cash Taka 200,000 and a crest to Professor Nazrul Islam at Sheltech Lounge.

Sheltech has introduced “Sheltech Award 2012” since 1998 to honour the country’s eminent personalities for their outstanding contributions in different sectors. Poet Shamsur Rahman, renowned singers Kalim Sharafi, Firoza Begum, Runa Laila and Sabina Yasmin, artist Qayyum Chowdhury, litterateur Rabeya Khatun, writer Prof. Jafar Iqbal, Shykh Seraj, painter Mustafa Monwar, playwright Mamtazuddin Ahmed, film-maker Subhash Dutta, Prof. Abdullah Abu Sayeed, actor Abul Hayat, architect Moinul Hossain, litterateur Humayun Ahmed, Professor Siddika Kabir, Professor Jamilur Reza Choudhury, Bangladesh Bank Governor Dr. Atiur Rahman and Founder and Coordinator of CRP Valerie Ann Taylor were the recipients of the award in the previous years.